Darren Smith

Feb 19, 2015
Hi.....so I have finally got my xbmc install just how I want it for now on my T8 box.
But I really want to back it up to a USB stick, so if I have to reset to factory settings I can restore it to its present state with my addons etc.
Now I have installed the xbmc backup addon and tried To do it with an sd card. When I pressed backup, it went through the preparing all my backup and when it said complete I removed the SD card and popped it into my laptop to see if it did copy the data. But upon opening my sd card, there was nothing in there.
So I thought maybe the sd card I had was faulty......so I want to try this time with a USB stick.......the trouble is im a real newbie to all this xbmc stuff.
Could someone( silently screaming :)) walk me through how I go about it please.....I.E.... starting with if the usb stick needs to be formatted etc.

Any help will be really appreiciated.
Thank you

ChrisM

Staff member
Jul 15, 2014
Cardiff, UK
ChrisMerriman.com
I tend to stick to copying files these days. I've never had much luck with automated systems (even Titanium Backup Pro fails me sometimes. Or I could just be lacking in time and knowledge to get tricky scenarios backed up right).
Using ES File Explorer,

upload_2015-2-27_16-17-5.png

or whatever you feel comfortable browsing around your files with, if you head to
/mnt/sdcard/Android/data/org.xbmc.xbmc

If you've got a different XBMC installed on your device, the bit in bold could be different.
Anyway, once there, long click on the "files" folder (this is assuming you're using ES File Explorer)

upload_2015-2-27_16-17-44.png

and then click on the more menu, now select Compress

upload_2015-2-27_16-18-40.png

Change the default name of "files" to something like "2015Feb27XBMCBackup" or whatever you'll remember.
If you're getting low on storage space (to temporarily hold this archive), you could change the Compress level to Best.
Click OK

upload_2015-2-27_16-20-17.png